April 2005 – OM


The very first vibration which became sound was the sound of OM. Creation itself was set in motion by the vibration of OM. The vibration produced by chanting Om in the physical universe corresponds to the original vibration that first arose at the time of creation. It is believed that when the mind is silent you can still hear the sound of OM, the sound of the universe.
The sound of Om is also called Pranava, meaning that it sustains life and runs through Prana or breath.
The sounds in Om (AUM) represent the waking, dream and deep sleep states and then silence which surrounds Om represents the “Turiya” (blissful) state. When we chant OM each part vibrates in a different part of the body and represents the different state of consciousness.
1. The Ahhh blooms in lower abdomen and represents the awake state,
2. Ooooh vibrates in the solar plexus and heart and represents the dream state,
3. Mmmmm occurs when we press our lips together sending the vibrations into our skulls sending our awareness into deep sleep.
4. And finally Turiya exists in the continuing vibration, the unstruck sound of Om.

At a certain point, ordinary words can no longer take us where we want to go. Through chanting, we use music and sacred mantras to enter into a dialogue with the divine.
Through vibration chanting helps us tune into the frequency of love. These love vibrations affect our inner being increasing our spiritual progress.
The sweetness of chanting stills the mind, dissolves worries, and opens the heart. Chanting and listening www.ncmh.info/klonopin-clonazepam-medication/ create space, chanting makes you intensely aware of silence, this aids in meditation by calming the thoughts as you “listen to the silence”. The saints describe chanting as a way of becoming saturated with God’s love.

Sound it Out
To make the sound of OM, the Ahhhh starts at the back of the throat, Ooooh moves forward into the mouth, Mmmmmm ends on the lips as it resonates with the mmmmmm of deliciousness.

The Sanskrit Symbol of OM
OMThe 3 represents the three states of consciousness. The lower curve of the three represents the dream state, the upper curve the awake state, the squiggly line coming out the back is the deep dreamless state. The half moon at the top represents maya, or illusions, the dot is the transcendental state.
The deep dreamless state is the only time the mind is truly at rest.
The representation of the half moon as “maya” and the dot as the transcendental state means we have to transcend the maya in the mind to reach the transcendental state–to be awake while the mind is in the state of the deep dreamless sleep.

Maya is illusion of the mind, the thoughts, the static between the ears. In “Autobiography of a Yogi” it is stated the Old Testament Prophets called maya by the name of Satan. The definition given for Satan is that which keeps us from God, that which moves us from Spirit to matter.

Chant OM, let those vibrations clear maya from our heads and tune our inner being (hearts) into the frequency of Love.

Comments are closed.

« Back